Don’t miss out on these incredible, historic sites in the city of Rome!

It’s no surprise that Rome is a city full of ancient history. In fact, many of the top attractions are historic landmarks including the Colosseum and other famous ruins. Rome has so many fascinating ruins that have been named UNESCO World Heritage Sites!

Below are five of our favourite UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Rome.

  1. The Colosseum

Everybody has heard of the Colosseum. It’s one of the most iconic landmarks in Rome, with over 4 million visitors every year.

The famous structure was built between 72 and 80 AD. It was used as an arena for gladiators to battle. In the 13th century, there was an earthquake that damaged the Colosseum beyond repair. Despite the damages, the Colosseum is one of the most well-preserved buildings worldwide.

In 1980, the Colosseum was named as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  1. The Pantheon

Standing tall at over 2,000 years old, the Pantheon is another UNESCO World Heritage Site. It was given the title in 1990 and is included along with other monuments nearby.

The Pantheon was originally built as a temple but was later converted to a Christian church. In 1870, it became a monument to memorialise all of Italy’s kings.

The Pantheon is also the burial ground of a famous Renaissance artist named Raffaello Sanzio. The painter was considered to be one of the greatest artists from that time. His last request before dying was to be buried in the Pantheon.

  1. Roman Forum

The Roman Forum is a collection of ancient ruins that stand tall in the centre of Rome. It used to be an important meeting place for religion, markets and political gatherings. When visiting the Roman Forum, you are able to see outlines of many of the ruins that used to form this important town centre.

In 1980 this landmark was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site thanks to the important role it played from the 7th century BC to the 4th century AD.

  1. St. Peter’s Basilica

St. Peter’s Basilica is a massive structure that is hard to miss while exploring Rome. Built between the 16th and 17th centuries, the basilica still stands tall and proud today. It is quite large and acts as the boundary between the Vatican City State and the Italian State.

In 1984, St. Peter’s Basilica was named as a UNESCO World Heritage Site due to its historic and architectural significance.

  1. Piazza di Spagna

The Piazza di Spagna can be translated to mean “The Square of Spain”. The name was given because it used to house the Spanish Embassy. It is also the location of the iconic Spanish Steps. When walking by, you’ll see many people climbing the 135 steps for a scenic viewpoint of the city.

These are just a few of the incredible UNESCO World Heritage Sites found throughout Rome. There is so much more to uncover as you explore the historic city of Rome!

Previous article: